For Goodness Sakes – I almost Forgot to Write my Pre-VMworld Blog Post!

ImageMany of you out there are preparing for your annual decent to San Francisco for VMworld 2013.  I’ve been busily preparing my schedule, stuffing every available time-slot (double, even triple booking in some cases).

As customary, I will highlight a few of my “recommended” sessions as well as other events / attractions that any attendee must try to make!  Some, or all of these may be of interest to you, but you can bet I will be there and if you catch me I will be sure to buy you a beer (that is, if it is a bar situation ;^))

Highlighted Management Track Sessions:

I had the honor and pleasure to sit through a few customer dry-run sessions – and my impression was that these presenters are the best of the best – the rich content and their presentation abilities blew me away!

  • Troubleshooting at Cox with Log Insight and vC Ops. Tuesday, 11:30-12:30 VCM5034
  • Covance – Ensuring Clinical Trial Patient Safety with vC Ops. Tuesday 5:30pm VCM5577

Next – With the recent addition of vCenter Log Insight and enthusiasm coming from its launch, CTO John Herlocker hosts a “Spotlight Session” covering the world of log analytics.

  • THE SPOTLIGHT SESSION on Log Insight. Monday, 3:30-4:30

Ok, I just love working with Bernd Harzog (APM Experts & The Virtualization Practice).  His session was top ranked last year, and this year he will presenting:

  • Building the Management Stack for your SDDC. Bernd Harzog of the Virtualization Practices gives you his take (not VMware’s) on what you need to do. Monday, 5:00-6:00 VCM4869

I often get asked what VMware is doing around automation – of course vCOPS is built on an analytics platform that enables automated operations (automated thresholding, smart alerts, capacity mgmt., etc…).  But VMware also leverages the power of vCO across the entire platform, and the following is a great technical session on how to harness the power of vCO:

  • How to Build a Self-Healing Data Center with vCenter Orchestrator VCM5695-Wednesday, 8:30-9:30

Entertainment and fun:

If that wasn’t enough fun,  I will also be “manning” the VMware Management Lounge on the expo floor – don’t ask me where it is, because I have to find out for myself when I’m there, but there will be giveaways and refreshments!

Next, Be sure to make it to the other “social events e.g. the hottest ticket in town #vmunderground party, as well as my colleagues defending their title at the #vflipcup – the full schedule is outlined on the VMware community gatherings page.

Image

Ok – I’m off to pack and spend some time with the family before I’m away for a week.

Cheers and see you there!!

@benscheerer

Leave a Reply

